First week - Reisverslag uit Belgrano, Argentinië van Kelly Jong - WaarBenJij.nu First week - Reisverslag uit Belgrano, Argentinië van Kelly Jong - WaarBenJij.nu

First week

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kelly

17 September 2012 | Argentinië, Belgrano

Let's get started on this blog. Time for some report after having been here for 1 week.

The trip was good, had a ten hour tranfer in Madrid, so that gave me an opportunity to see the City. It was very nice!

When I arrived in Buenos Aires, a driver brought me to my room in Belgrano. The hostel I'm in is nice, it's pretty clean and there's wifi and hot water. I even get breakfast (donuts and croissants covered with sugar, not really my thing). The bad thing is that there's construction workers every morning at 08.00 next to the hostel. So I bought earplugs and they make sleeping a lot better. There are a lot of Colombians living in the hostel, and just a few people from Europe sleep here (I don't really see them). So most of the time here I spent having conversations with the colombians that speek english. They are all very nice to me, even though it must be annoying to be nice to every new person they see here.

Doing groceries here is very expensive, I think I spend more money here than in Holland. Going out or ordering however is cheaper.

The first day at the school was very good, the teachers are excellent and I feel like I'll learn a lot here. I already know though that I will never be able to have a real conversation with people from Argentina, because they talk way too fast.
My classes are from 14.00 untill 18.00, so there's not really time to explore things during the day.

Thursday I had dinner with some of the students of the school, which was nice, I met a lot of students from Germany and Holland.
Saturday I went to a cemetary here in Belgrano and sunday I went to Tigre with some other students. The cemetary had some beautiful structures of concrete. Tigre is supposed to be the Venice of Buenos Aires. Maybe it was the weather (cold and cloudy), but it did not reach my expectations. The boatride was nice, but the town was not that impressive.

Anyway, I took some pictures and that's pretty much it for the first week. I'm looking forward to doing and seeing a lot more of the city centre and other places.

Hasta luego

  • 18 September 2012 - 20:14

    Mama:

    Dit is leuk kell.
    Arrivedercie(of zo). X

  • 19 September 2012 - 09:57

    Nienke:

    Lieve kell!

    Leuk om je berichtjes te lezen!! keep on writing!!
    Hier gaat alles zo als het gaat.. maquettes, schetsen, geen persoonlijk leven... ;) Geniet ervan en maak je geen zorgen, ook die argentijnen ga je op een dag begrijpen!!

    besos desde Holanda!!

  • 22 September 2012 - 11:48

    Jan De Jong:

    Hello Kelly,
    How're you doing today.
    Liked your travel impressions.
    How is the stay after some more weeks? I guess you speak fluent spanish by now. Next time I'll respond in Spanish too. I found a colleague who is married to a Spanish wife. I let him translate.
    This week I got my I-phone, and downloaded what's app immediately, so we can app and skype!
    Difficult thing to become familiar with, though, for a "digibeet" I am.
    Today your sister will visit me. So she can teach me in using the I-phone.
    Curious to see your next stories on your webblog. Hope you can write some more this weekend.
    Love you,
    Daddy

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Argentinië, Belgrano

Kelly

Actief sinds 02 Sept. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 386
Totaal aantal bezoekers 17094

Voorgaande reizen:

08 September 2012 - 01 Maart 2013

Zuid Amerika

Landen bezocht: