Iguazu, Ushuaia, Torres Del Paine - Reisverslag uit Puerto Natales, Chili van Kelly Jong - WaarBenJij.nu Iguazu, Ushuaia, Torres Del Paine - Reisverslag uit Puerto Natales, Chili van Kelly Jong - WaarBenJij.nu

Iguazu, Ushuaia, Torres Del Paine

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kelly

19 November 2012 | Chili, Puerto Natales

A lot to tell but not a lot of time, so I´ll try my best again.

First some photos of the rose garden that I saw in Buenos Aires during my last few days. A beautiful garden.

The waterfalls were beautiful. We first visited the Argentinan side together (Valerie and I) (because of a time limit we had to visit the Argentinan side first), and the day after I visited the Brazilian side.
The Argentinan side has a few big routes, so you can see the waterfalls from a low viewpoint up to a high viewpoint. We took a short boattrip that day that brought us really close to the waterfalls, we got really wet and it was hard to see anything because of all the water splashing into your face. It was a great feeling and we had a lot of fun sitting in that boat! Of course the weather was great so we were dry in no time. The park was not that crowded so we got enough of opportunities to see the falls really good.
The day after I saw the Brazilian side. The parc is a lot closer but the view you get there is very different. Just look at the photos, it is hard for me to describe how I felt when seeing those falls.
After seeing the Brazilian side I had some time left to visit the point where the three borders come together (Paraguay, Brazil and Argentina). Nothing very special, but nice to see.

Right after that I took a flight to Ushuaia. When I got there it was snowing! From the heat to the cold. I immediately bought a hat.
The hostel there was absolutely great, the two people working there were very sweet, helping me with everything and organizing trips.
The first whole day I spent going to a national park for a day of hiking in the snow. The sky was cloudy and misty so we did not see a lot, but what we saw was great! (We is two girls from holland I met there and a girl from Ireland). The day after I took a boat trip on the Beagle Channel to watch the pinguins and sealions. The view was amazing, because it was less cloudy that day.
The day after there was a trip to lake Esmeralda, unfortunately we had to stay in the group while hiking. Because of the big group we did not find the lake, I´m sure I would have found it if I would have walked alone.
When I got back the guy who runs the hostel felt sorry for me and he lended me a bicycle so that I could make a short tour to the beach (with rock). From that point you could see the whole town.
I absolutely loved Ushuaia. Especially after Buenos Aires. The air as so fresh and there was nature everywhere, I look a lot healthier now.

The two dutch girls, Lonneke and Eline, and a girl from England, Neha, were planning on going to hike at the national park Torres del Paine. I told them that I really wanted to do something like that as well and they were so sweet to wait one more day so that I could join them!

Now of course comes the story of the hike. Five days (4 nights) hiking through the mountains of Torres del Paine. The hike was hard at some moments: freezing cold at night in the tents, carrying all of your own stuff, no showers or electricity. We walked 75 kilometers in 5 days. Everyday setting up the tent, cooking your pasta or mashed potatoes, wear everything you have to be as warm as possible in the tent, sleep for 4 hours if you´re lucky because it is just too freaking cold, get up at 6 or 7 to make pouridge or soup for breakfast, get all the stuff in the backpacks again and walk for hours again. It was nice to fill your waterbottle in the river, clean your dishes in the river, and wash yourself and your clothes in the river when the sun is shining. I´m very happy to have done this with these new friends, without them I couldn´t have done it! Again I cannot describe how my view was, I think you can only understand it when you see it yourself. I feel very lucky to see all these beautiful places.

Right now I´m back in Puerto Natales, the village from where we arranged our hike. Tomorrow the four of us are going to El Calafate to visit the Perito Moreno Glacier. Maybe won´t travel alone for a while, because Lonneke and Eline have some of the same travel plans.
After El Calafate I don´t know what I will do, maybe to Chalten and than up to Bariloche. I´lll find out when I´ll find out!

Saludos desde Chile!


  • 20 November 2012 - 17:24

    Mama:

    wat beleef je toch fantastisch nooie dinngen en ontmoet leuke lieve mensen.
    lees je weblogg altijd met veel plezier en kijk al weer uit naar het volgende
    schrijven.

    kus, mam


  • 23 November 2012 - 13:56

    Daphne:

    Wauw, wat een mooie foto's en verhalen zeg!! Het klinkt alsof je het goed naar je zin hebt. :)
    Ik ben erg jaloers op je en ben benieuwd naar je volgende verhalen!

    kus, Daff

  • 25 November 2012 - 12:45

    Jan De Jong:

    Dear Kel,
    What a stunning pictures. Can't believe the beauties you see every day again. Looking forward to experience the same WOW-feeling in january already!
    I had to laugh about the remark on not finding the lake with the whole big group, and your idea you had found the lake while walking alone. But I think that you enjoy the possibility of travelling together with the two dutch girls.
    I have no idea of the settings you're living in, except of course for the fantastic pictures. But you bring the other end of te world a whole lot closer. I'm getting jealous that the idea of travelling around was not in our minds 30-40 years ago.
    Looking forward to the next blog annex pictures.
    Your loving dad.

  • 28 November 2012 - 09:54

    Annebeth:

    Hey Kelly,
    De foto's zijn echt prachtig! Ook stoer dat je zo'n hike gemaakt hebt! Ik ben ook heel jaloers!
    x Annebeth

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Chili, Puerto Natales

Kelly

Actief sinds 02 Sept. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 510
Totaal aantal bezoekers 17063

Voorgaande reizen:

08 September 2012 - 01 Maart 2013

Zuid Amerika

Landen bezocht: